Throwback Thursday: You Have a Nice Day

*A weekly post revisiting some of my previous fictional writing pieces from my old blog*

“I loved him.” A shrug. A hollow smile.
“You didn’t know him.”
“I did towards the end. We talked a lot. He talked.”
“What did he talk about?”
“His wife, mostly. His kids. How he missed them. He begged me to let him see them. Just one last time.”
“Why him?”
Another shrug, a drag from the cigarette in her left hand. “He noticed me.”
“When?”
“When I was working at the garage. He came in every morning to buy a coffee and the paper. £2,50. Every morning. He would smile at me and say ‘You have a nice day’. Nobody else did that.”
“Do you think what you did was right?”
“No. I knew it was wrong. But, I couldn’t help myself. I had to have him. I didn’t mean to hurt him. I loved him.”
The heavy metal door opens, a security guard enters, nods, “Time is up.”

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: You Have a Nice Day

Leave a Reply

