Throwback Thursday: Empty Words

*A weekly post revisiting some of the previous fictional writing pieces from my old blog*

This piece was the first of a short series I ran on my blog titled ‘character conversations’ – the challenge was to write a small story consisting only of dialogue – no description, no characterisation, no place setting, and no context.

What do you think? Can a dialogue-only story be successful? Can it create enough colour and texture to draw you in? Can you imagine these people? Their lives? Can you buy into their story? Do you know them? Do you care about them?

Enjoy!

“Hi.”
“Hey.”
“I finally got the kids to sleep.”
“Yeah?”
“Yeah. You want some dinner? I just ate fish fingers with the kids, but I could make you a sandwich?”
“Nah, I’m good. Had some chips at the pub.”
“You were at the pub?”
“Uh-huh.”
“With the guys?”
“Yeah.”
“How are they doing?”
“They’re alright. Dave and Sylvia are splitting up. He’s pretty cut up about it.”
“That’s awful. I must ring Sylvia in the morning. Do you know what happened?”
“Everything. Or nothing. Don’t know really.”
“Oh. What a shame. They were such a nice couple.”
“I guess.”
“At least there weren’t any children involved.”
“Hmmph.”
“Well, I’m pretty knackered so I might have an early night.”
“Okay.”
“Do you want to come up?”
“After the highlights.”
“You don’t want to be here do you, Tony?”
“I’m here, aren’t I?”
“That’s not the same as wanting to be here.”
“Not now, Shirl. I’m a little pissed and not in the mood for this tonight.”
“I guess I just want you to know that I didn’t choose this life either.”
“Uh-huh.”
“But, if I had to be stuck in this life with anyone, I would want it to be you. We will get through this. I know we will. Because in spite of everything, I love you.
Do you love me, Tony? Do you?
Tony?”

*First published June 2011

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Empty Words

  1. You said volumes about this couple and their failing relationship, just with dialogue, without any “As you know, Bob’s.” (As you know, Bob, we’ve been friends since the first grade…) Great job!

Leave a Reply

