On Reading and Nook Book of the Month: AM Homes May We Be Forgiven

Over the past couple of years, I have become a notoriously bad reader. I battle to make find time to sit down and read a good book. I have become a product of the ‘one click’ Y2K generation – too easily distracted by technology and I find myself wiling away any ‘free time’ I have simultaneously surfing TV channels and skulking social media platforms in a repetitive, mind-numbing fuzz.

Reading takes discipline and commitment. It is about eliminating all distractions (physical and psychological) and immersing oneself in another world. I struggle with being able to shut off the external and internal distractions, and somewhere along the way I lost the focus needed to be able to read well, but I am working on it.

As Stephen King says: “If you want to be a writer you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”

And so, in an attempt to encourage myself to read more – I am starting a Nook Book segment on the new blog (a few months ago, my boyfriend bought me a Barnes & Noble Nook E-Reader in an attempt to get me back into reading, and I am absolutely in love with it. Everything I read, I read on my wee Nook).

This month’s novel (that took me about 4 months to finish – I want to blame summer, but basically, I just blame myself) is:

download

Title

May We Be Forgiven

Author

AM Homes

Prizes

Women’s Prize for Fiction 2013

Teaser

Harry Silver is a Richard Nixon scholar who leads a quiet, regular life; his brother George is a high-flying TV producer, with a murderous temper.They have been uneasy rivals since childhood.Then one day George loses control so extravagantly that he precipitates Harry into an entirely new life.

Quote

“How can I tell anyone that there has always lived within me a rusty sense of disgust-a dull, brackish water that I suspect is my soul?” – Harry Silver

One thought on “On Reading and Nook Book of the Month: AM Homes May We Be Forgiven

Leave a Reply

